SKL New York

Traditional with a Twist

The holidays are now in full swing!  Decorations abound inside and out of homes: bright lights in all colors and shapes adorning roof-lines and lawns, presents wrapped in shiny paper with ribbons and bows, wreaths aplenty hanging on front doors, trees trimmed with tinsel and ornaments, big and small.  It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

This year, however, seems a bit slimmer in the wallet arena.  So in thinking about a tree, I needed to think outside the box.  Last year, we bought a small potted tree, which we then planted outside to accompany the older pines that line the driveway.  Here’s the little tree, happy in it’s outdoor setting

plantedtree

So, while spending time in the yard, clearing fallen branches by the dozen and stacking them for kindling, it came to me.  Why not use a large branch instead?

After a few minutes of searching, I found just the right one – almost a small tree itself with nicely balanced branches.

IMG_2034

A bit more searching around and I found some planks of wood that could work as a base.  I am sure a traditional tree stand would probably work as well, but I wanted something that might function as a sculptural object after the ornaments and tree skirt are packed up in January.

After nailing a large nail through the middle plank of wood and then up through the base of the branch, it was ready for painting.

I spray painted the entire “tree” with white Lacquer.  The nice thing about this particular branch was that the tips of each twig had small bulbs (it must have fallen last spring), adding additional shape and texture to the “tree”.

IMG_2037

I used Chalkboard spray paint for the base.  That way I can decorate it differently throughout the year!

IMG_2039

Even though this “tree” is very different from a bushy green pine, I like the simplicity of the white branches.  Once we got all our ornaments hung on the “tree”, it actually looked quite festive!  It kind of reminds me of the little tree in “A Charlie Brown Christmas” – all it needed was a bit of love.

IMG_2043

IMG_2045

IMG_2077

IMG_2078

Merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Night!

This entry was published on December 9, 2012 at 12:53 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Traditional with a Twist

  1. I LOVE that you did this!! I’m so glad you stopped by my blog so I could see it. Way to be creative, save money, and be beautiful!!!!

    • Thank you so much!!! I see hidden beauty all around – the trick is to take (or make) the time to follow your inspiration 🙂 Please check back to see more fun projects and transformations!!

  2. It is really meaning ful when you create your own symbols. Just the sheer act of doing is already great. Looks like you are surrounded by wonderful trees this Christmastime! A very merry time in the coming weeks. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a comment