SKL New York

A Pile of Pulls

First off, I want to preface about the absence of posts to this blog.  During this two to three week hiatus, we have experienced Superstorm Sandy, in which we lost power for seven days (that being the worst of what we suffered and I am extremely grateful), a short-lived Nor’easter, while my daughter recovered from a week long stomach bug, Election Day, Veteran’s Day, and Thanksgiving – all of which threw large wrenches into any sort of consistent planning.  That said, the time to dedicate to creating projects (not to mention, photographing and writing about them) has been limited, if not non-existent.

This blog serves several purposes, but mostly I want it to A) be all ORIGINAL content, meaning I only post projects that I have actually completed and B) to continue to create innovative, inspired re-purposed “found” objects, while demonstrating the many different ways one can create beauty out of almost anything with a bit of elbow grease:: both of which require a healthy amount of time, energy and dedication.

 
That said, this project has been a long time in the making.  Several months back, a friend of mine had given me a large bag of plastic pulls – you know, the little plastic things on the end of the string that pulls up window blinds?  I don’t know where she found these, or who would’ve collected such a seemingly silly thing – but here they were, now in my possession, begging for an interesting use!

After rinsing the years of dust and dirt off, I separated them by color to create an easily viewable palette.

At first, I had thought of doing a large wall mural of some sort… like this:

But during the several days that we sat without lights, heat or water (hot or cold), and as the temperatures started dipping into the 20’s, I realized that I wanted a vivid reminder of what was really important in life.

Furthermore, my daughter and I had a great time (during the daylight hours) sorting the colors with our fingerless gloves, meticulously arranging the 300+ plastic pieces (313 as per my daughter’s count) and super gluing them onto painted letterboard to create this (which now adorns the wall of the entry, the first thing you see when coming in the front door):

After we finished, I hauled some buckets of water from a neighbor’s rain barrel to flush toilets, brought in some wood and built a fire in the wood stove, just in time for sunset.  As darkness replaced the sunshine, we snuggled in bean bags and read “The BFG” by Roald Dahl by candlelight – perfection.

This entry was published on November 28, 2012 at 6:27 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A Pile of Pulls

  1. Good stuff , Suz…and perfect pallet for the season.;)

Leave a Reply

