SKL New York

From Root to Tree

A few months ago, I had helped a neighbor pull up a few unwanted plants, as she was clearing out an area for other ornamentals.  She had cut everything back, leaving the exposed stumps for pulling out the roots.  As I pulled a few of them, one caught my eye.  The delicate root system was still in tact, extending it’s tentacles in several directions.  But there was something beautifully composed and organically balanced about this one. Looking at it once more, I realized that by turning it upside down, it revealed a new shape – a tree.

I left it outside for a few days, letting the rains gently rinse the dirt that clung to the fragile roots.  Then, I let it dry completely.  I wanted to preserve and protect the intricate shapes of the tiny roots, so I decided to get a bit creative.  I used some leftover white lacquer spray paint (from the Dining Chair renovation) and sprayed just the roots (or now the “branches” of the tree).

Then I pulled out some molding clay (from the Beads project) and creating a sturdy base around the “trunk” of the tree to support it.  After waiting several days for the clay to dry, I painted it with a silver glaze to seal it.

The result was better than I had imagined!

 

Nature never ceases to demonstrate it’s simple, elegant brilliance.  One only needs to stop and look occasionally, to witness it’s perfect design.

This entry was published on October 14, 2012 at 2:49 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “From Root to Tree

  1. Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

