SKL New York

rePurposed Paint Swatches

This past weekend was a lot of fun!  Even though, I said I was going to take it easy, kick back and just paint my toes (see it here).  I must admit I have trouble sitting still for very long…

So… I decided to tackle cleaning out and re-organizing my closet. (I know, not really such a simple undertaking) However, it was great to pull out old photos and childhood memories and share them with my daughter (she would exclaim “Mom, you’re SO beautiful” at my old headshots; ahhh, I adore her).

Anyway, I digress…

One of the things I stumbled upon was a half-started project that I had conceived four or five years ago, yet never completed.  A bag full of paint swatches, some already trimmed to different sizes in preparation for the project and several glue sticks to create a wall mosaic.  I had originally intended to cover an entire wall with this technique, but either a) never had the time (or patience) to sit down and actually do it, b) had pondered the possibility that it might be too busy and cluttered looking or c) was too distracted raising a small child and questioned it’s durability against smudgy curious fingers.

Nonetheless, I pulled it all out and decided to finally give it a go.  I opted to focus on a smaller scale project to see how time-consuming it was and have a basis for how it might look in a larger format.  Digging deeper into the closet, I discovered an extra 16 x 20 frame that would work perfectly!

I spread out all the materials:

  • paint chips/swatches
  • glue
  • 16 x 20 posterboard


and got to work.

Starting from the bottom edge of the posterboard, I began gluing the swatches one at a time in rows.  I concentrated on one row at a time, allowing myself flexibility in color choice and size as I worked my way upwards, layering and overlapping in different directions, but mostly keeping to a stacked (or roof shingle) layout.

The result was an intricate, textural work that has inspired even more ideas!  Now I need to decide where to hang it!

Total cost: $1 (glue) $9 (clip frame)

Note:  As I sat down to write this post, I did a quick search for “paint swatch wall” and discovered a vast amount of creative ideas using paint swatches.

Here is a good one – Paint Swatch Wall from liz apple

And an entire Pinterest Page full of amazing ideas

And I thought I was inventive – maybe five years ago, I would’ve been!  Better late than never!

This entry was published on October 10, 2012 at 4:43 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “rePurposed Paint Swatches

  1. Pingback: re-Imagining Tile « SKL New York

Leave a Reply

