SKL New York

A Tailored Tee

This is a really fun and easy project to do and can make use of large (and sometimes unwearable) t-shirts!  The only tool you need is a pair of sharp scissors.

I found this great t-shirt at Target in the men’s section.  Of course, I always like the men’s clothing better, but never fit into anything without alteration.

First, I measured about how long I wanted the shirt to be.  I added about two inches to the desired length since the alteration might pull it shorter.  Then I cut off the bottom edge.

I then cut off both of the sides completely, following the curve of the arm – again measuring the size to fit my body.

Taking the bottom piece that I had previously cut, I cut one side seam and removed the hem.  Then cut the long piece in half to make two long strips.

Returning to the shirt, I carefully cut small holes along the front and back sides of the T-shirt, making sure to keep the front and back in line together, starting from underneath the arm hole.

I then took one of the two long strips and began to thread it through the holes on one side, weaving them back and forth like a shoelace and knotting it at the bottom.  Repeating the same on the other side.

I cut off the neckline hem and used the used the extra pieces from trimming the long strips to cinch the top of the shoulders for an additional detail.

and VOILA!  a funky twist on a simple Tee!

This entry was published on October 4, 2012 at 5:43 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A Tailored Tee

  1. Jennifer on said:

    This looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

