SKL New York

A Beautiful Bench

I am so grateful for the many friends, neighbors and acquaintances that I have met over the years (especially the last year or so).  They have given me so much and have allowed me to utilize my creativity in ways I never thought possible.

Speaking of which… I was given this amazing wood slatted bench.  The person who gave it to me told me they were “just going to take the chainsaw to it and make firewood”.  Luckily for me, they thought of me before they cranked up the saw.  He had built it himself years ago and I think the work is sturdy, long-lasting and elegantly simple.  Although, I can see why he had lost his interest in it…

At first, I thought I was going to have to pull out my trusty palm-sander, but not so.

I filled a bucket full of hot water and Murphy’s Wood Soap and began to scrub the entire bench with a stiff bristle brush.  Murphy’s Wood Soap is a fantastic product.  I use it on my hardwood floors to keep them nourished, clean and looking like new!  You can also use it on furniture and just about any wood surface to revitalize and protect.

The results were amazing…after scrubbing

I decided to apply one coat of Behr Waterproofing Wood Stain (the same one I used on the deck), to deepen the natural color and add longevity no matter where I decided to put it (either outside or in).

And voila!  A beautiful refinished bench!

Here’s a BEFORE and AFTER:

Now I’m inspired to make a special place for this bench… stay tuned 🙂

This entry was published on August 26, 2012 at 11:57 am. It’s filed under ReClaimed Furniture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “A Beautiful Bench

  1. Pingback: A Little Goes a Long Way – UPDATE « SKL New York

  2. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

