SKL New York

Fun with a Frame

It’s been awhile since my last post, but I have been busy working on several projects!  Unfortunately, having projects to post about requires the time to do them 🙂

Twice a year, the community rents a dumpster for everyone in the neighborhood to dispose of their unwanted large items.  As you can imagine, it can be a treasure trove for inspiration and creativity!

Last month, I picked up this large framed poster.  I’m not so fond of this type of artwork (I grew up admiring the French Impressionists and the Dutch masters), but the frame was worth experimenting with.

After removing the poster, I painted the frame with Ace Metallic spray paint.  (As you can see in the background, I was simultaneously working on the Tree Mural project)

For a bit of color, I toyed with the idea of recreating either a Miro, Picasso, or Matisse, but in the end, I decided to utilize some of the newest illustrations of my latest children’s book “Tea with a Flea” – now available on Lulu.com.

This entry was published on June 28, 2012 at 9:18 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

