SKL New York

Fantastic Finds

As I explore the depths of the property and make my way pulling weeds, clearing branches, leaves and other things, I have uncovered small discarded treasures.  Working on a shoestring budget encourages me to utilize whatever I have (or find) and be creative. There is something I love about old rusty things – I don’t know why.  Maybe I have some attachment to the way things used to be made – to last, even when exposed to the brutal elements of the Northeast.  For lack of a better phrase “They just don’t make ’em like they used to!”

Nonetheless, I thought I would highlight some of the fantastic finds I have collected so far.

A wind chime with deep bass tones

A scythe, a pickaxe, a window pull, a fire poker, and another fantastic tubular wind chime…

A cow bell

Flat bricks uncovered beneath a stack of rotting wood

Flagstone that was scattered throughout the property

A mallet, two pitchforks and two shovels (one of which I used to dig stones, clear weeds and build a stacked stone wall)

And most surprising of all – a dead Christmas tree with the ornaments and lights still on it, and the lights still work!

That’s all for now, but I’m sure to discover more!

This entry was published on June 7, 2012 at 6:35 pm. It’s filed under Exteriors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Fantastic Finds

  1. Pingback: Digging up the Driveway « SKL New York

Leave a Reply

