SKL New York

Liquored to Lacquered (and lovely)

In my quest to find DIY and craft projects, I often search for fun and unusual things that challenge my idea of what could be beautified.  Most, if not all, of my projects have been discarded items that I picked up from various places (streets of NYC, friends clearing out old things, etc) then carefully worked to restore or recreate.

While clearing fallen branches in my yard, I discovered this old liquor bottle (left here for who knows how long) and decided that the shape might be interesting enough to clean it up and try.  I scrubbed it clean and left it simple and clear for awhile.  But after seeing how fantastic the vase turned out (see project here), I figured the lacquer paint might do the trick here too!

I pulled out my can of Rust-Oleum Lacquer (white) and applied two coats of paint, allowing an hour of dry time between each coat.  It was so simple, and yet the results were great!  I especially like the fact that something that was once disgusting, now brings joy.

I filled it with some lovely daffodils that were blooming all over my yard (I didn’t even know I had daffodils!) and enjoyed the bright freshness of yellow and white to brighten my day!

This entry was published on March 27, 2012 at 3:46 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

