SKL New York

Modernizing a Mirror

I had scooped up this large mirror last year with the Arthur Unamoff swivel chair and the pieces for the Wine Rack.  I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do with it, so I had to live with it for awhile to take it in and imagine different scenarios.  At first, I originally had in mind to paint it (either silver or white), but I didn’t want to get stuck with doing the same thing over and over again.

So I decided to sand it down completely and cross my fingers that the wood underneath was in good shape.  After hand sanding for an hour, I pulled out my handy palm sander once more, and carefully continued stripping off the dark chipping varnish – until it was beautifully bare…

Even though there are two different types of wood used on this frame (which is why someone stained it in the first place), I liked the look of this two-tone frame.  It had mid-century modern feel, and I especially loved the look of the wood on the sides.

After a thorough wipe down with water and paper towels, I applied two coats of MinWax Polycrylic Protective Clear Finish (gloss), allowing two hours of dry time between coats.

Now… the mirror seems brighter and more fresh.  A beautiful addition to my living room!

This entry was published on March 12, 2012 at 9:29 pm. It’s filed under ReClaimed Furniture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Modernizing a Mirror

  1. Pingback: An Unexpected Gem « SKL New York

  2. Pingback: Livin’ it up in the Living Room « SKL New York

  3. forex handelssysteme Heya, I absolutely like this homepage. So much helpfull details. Thx for sharing this with us. Take care!

  4. modtex on said:

    classic

Leave a Reply

