SKL New York

Fun with Fixtures

Originally, I had a Chinese paper lantern covering this ugly ceiling light.

But over the years (and with some help from an errant ball thrown by my daughter), the lantern finally bit the dust.  Even though I rarely use this ceiling light, it needed some sort of covering to help it connect with the room and putting a round glass fixture over it (as it is intended to have) just wasn’t an option.

Creativity, please don’t fail me now!

I had some sheet metal left over from another lampshade project I had done last year, so I pulled it out along with heavy duty scissors, needle-nose pliers, and a strong metal ruler and got to work.

I cut a piece about 16 x 16 inches.  Then carefully bent sections about 3 inches from the edge, cutting along the fold at one end so that it could wrap like a box edge.  I used the ruler to help bend the sheet metal more precisely.

Then I used hanging wire to connect and secure the edges.  I also had picked up a little bulb clip attachment that I had been waiting for the right project to utilize.  I used the hanging wire to attach that to the new fixture and VOILA!

An interesting, DIY ceiling light fixture – functional and fashionable!

Here is how it looks in the room

This entry was published on March 4, 2012 at 6:54 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Fun with Fixtures

  1. I do not even know the way I finished up right here, however I assumed this post was once great. I don’t recognize who you are however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!

  2. gonzalo on said:

    I’d like to see it lite

Leave a Reply

