SKL New York

A reVitalized Vase

A friend of mine decided that she was rethinking all of her green decorative objects.  In the pile of things to go, was a large green vase.  I guess you could call it some sort of watermelon color.  However, the form and size of the vase was striking enough to warrant an attempt at altering it’s color and, hopefully, giving it new life.

I had never attempted to paint glazed ceramic, but I knew it was possible.

First, I sanded the entire vase with 80-grit sandpaper, to roughen the smooth surface for better adhesion with the paint.  I wiped it down thoroughly with a damp paper towel and let dry.

Then I spray painted a thick coat of Rust-Oleum Lacquer (white).  I was careful to keep the spray can about 6 to 10 inches away and maintain an even back and forth motion, so that the paint did not accumulate in one spot and form droplets of running paint.  I let it dry for a little over an hour, and added another coat.

BEFORE

AFTER

I think it turned out quite lovely 🙂

This entry was published on March 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm. It’s filed under Small projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “A reVitalized Vase

  1. Pingback: Liquor to Lacquered (and lovely) « SKL New York

Leave a Reply

