SKL New York

A Distressed Drop Leaf Table

In this blog, I like to keep things short and to the point, but I also want to demonstrate how even the most damaged items can be given new life and longevity.  This is a perfect example of how one can take something that seems impossible to salvage and make it beautiful again, with just a bit of elbow grease 🙂

My ever-so generous neighbor gave me this very damaged drop-leaf table.  At first glance, I considered it to be a challenging project, but knew if I could succeed, it would make an amazing BEFORE and AFTER scenario.  The leaves of the table didn’t even open properly, as the hinges were pretty rusted.  And the legs and top were dusty, stained and chipped.  Ahhh, but where there are “good bones”, there is always hope!

Here is the BEFORE:

I scrubbed the entire table clean then removed all the hardware.  The hinges I soaked and scrubbed in a mixture of lemon juice and coarse salt to remove the rust.  Then lightly sanded the entire table

It started looking better already!  Unfortunately, there were so many layers of paint that I wasn’t able to strip it down to the natural wood, but if I ever acquire a detail sander (to gently get into the niches and grooves of carved wood) I might refinish this table once more!

I applied two coats of Behr Premium Plus Exterior paint (color: Apple Polish) with a brush, carefully following the grain of the wood to ensure a smoother finish.  I chose exterior paint for it’s durability, since this table would probably have dishes and serving platters on and off of it while it lives in my kitchen.  After allowing ample drying time between coats, I then applied a top coat of MinWax Polycrylic Protective Finish (clear gloss).  I applied an extra clear coat on the table top and leaves for additional protection and replaced the hinges.

And here’s the AFTER:

Ready for serving for many years to come!!

This entry was published on February 9, 2012 at 6:03 pm. It’s filed under ReClaimed Furniture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A Distressed Drop Leaf Table

  1. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m
    thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

    • Hi! Thanks for visiting and commenting! Setting up a blog is pretty straightforward and WordPress has many different themes to choose from, as well as, simple tutorials on everything from how to get started to customizing your blog. The difficulty (or challenge) lies in defining what you want your blog to be about and then consistently following through with quality content. Good luck in whatever you choose to accomplish! Hope you stop by again!

Leave a Reply

